The Ultra Conservative Catholic

Ecumenical Council

An Ecumenical Council is a conference of the Bishops of the whole Church convened to discuss and settle matters of Church doctrine and practice. There are currently twenty-one councils within the Roman Catholic Church. The first counil was held in 325 as is called the First Council of Nicea. It was convened by Constintine I and was held in Nicea which is now present day Iznik, Turkey.  Among matter accompolished at the first Ecumenical Council was the original version of the Nicene Creed.  The other twenty ecumenical councils include: First Council of Constantinople in 381,  Council of Ephesus in 431, Second Council of Ephesus in 449, Council of Chalcedon in 451, Second Council of Constantinople in 553, Third Council of Constantinople in 680-681, Second Council of Nicea in 787, Fourth Council of Constantinople in 869-870,  Fist Council of Lateran in 1123, Second Council of Lateran in 1139, Third Council of Lateran in 1179, Fourth Council of Lateran 1215, First Council of Lyon in 1245, Second Council of Lyon in 1274, Council of Vienne in 1311-1312, Council of Constance in 1414-1418, Council of Basel(Florence) in 1431-1445, Fifth Council of Latern in 1512-1519, Council of Trent in 1545-1563, First Vatican Council in 1870 and Second Vatican Council in 1962-1965.  The Council of Trent and Vatican II are regarded as the most major councils to date.


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: