The Ultra Conservative Catholic

Vatican II

This was an Ecumencial Council of the Catholic Church. It was conveined by Pope John XXIII in 1962 and concluded by Pope Paul VI in 1965. Five different Popes were in attendance of this council: John XXIII, Paul VI, John Paul I, John II and Benedict XVI. Most of them were Cardinals at the time. Many changes came from this council and it was the first major council that pushed many changes since Trent, although Vatican I didn’t make as many earth shattering moves. Some of the major changes were of the mass. This mass is known as the Novus Order. This permitted the mass to said in venacular languages. This Novus Order mass is often referred as the Mass of Pope Paul VI. If one parish wanted a Latin Mass, they had to have special permission by a Bishop. This is no longer as of 2006. The main goal of Vatican II was to renew the church.


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: